Had a few visitors the other day. Miss Tinker was very upset about something and usually this means that she has sighted a squirrel or "the girls" which is what we call the 2 or 3 deer that roam our yard in the evenings. Well she wanted to go out and since we have been hosting a "stinky kitty" family recently (skunks in human language) I thought I should probably check the yard first.
I looked out front and found nothing, looked out back and same story. This doesn't always automatically mean an all clear though. The other night she wanted out and I opened the back door and she rushed out and immediately checked the side of the porch. I stepped out and looked over and aw-oh, you betcha, little stinky kitty, right there! I tried very hard to get Miss Tinker to come back inside and she wasn't having any of it. She wanted to play. All I could think was do I stand here and get sprayed with her or do I go out and pick her up, what is the right thing for a Tinker mommy to do.
Well, Tink gave up when the stinky kitty wouldn't play so I figured by this time if it hadn't sprayed us with the lovely scent that they are so well known for we were probably not going to get it (I bet if it had been mommy SK we would have). Tinker pee-pottied and came straight back into the house. Whew, talk about scared.
Oh well, back to my visitors. I ended up going into Kelli's bedroom and raising the blind and looking out toward the Apple and Pear Trees and sure enough, we had company. Four deer, one of those being a little (or not quite full grown) fawn (still has spots). So the entire time I am taking pictures of these deer, Tink is standing on the bed whoopin and hollerin wanting to go out. I just knew the deer were going to hear her, they didn't.
The deer all slowly, one by one took off over the fence and left the little fawn. He/She ran up and down the fence row and kept wanting to cross, I was scared it was going to try to jump and get caught. It finally ran down fence row and ran across the road. I guess it just thought, when in doubt, just leave em all. haha :~)
I am only going to put a couple pictures in. I wish I could have had a clearer shot, without window and screen in between us. Enjoy!
You can just almost see the spots on the fawn. I wish the window and screen weren't between me and the deer. Maybe next time I can get some pictures of our "Stinky Kitties". Later, mlm
No comments:
Post a Comment